The Immortalists - Chloe Benjamin

The Immortalists

By Chloe Benjamin

  • Release Date: 2018-01-09
  • Genre: Literary
4 Score: 4 (From 558 Ratings)

Description

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: 
Washington Post, NPR, Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, Marie Claire, New York Public Library, LibraryReads, The Skimm, Lit Hub, Lit Reactor 

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review

“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)


If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Reviews

  • Powerful

    5
    By ChuggaCharlie
    This story was insanely captivating. It was dark but ultimately left me happy to have gained such powerful insight. I can’t stop thinking about this book, and I think The Immortalists will be moving high on my list of favorites.
  • The immortalists

    2
    By debbielynn20
    I found this to be a depressing book and stopped reading it after Klara’s story., the topic is unique but the story line outcome is predictable.
  • Loved this book!

    5
    By ATRAIN2323
    I’m just getting into reading as I’ve never been able to keep my attention long enough to finish a book. With that said, I’m extremely picky. I LOVED this book. It was cleverly written, it’s easy to read, and kept my interest throughout. I highly recommend this book!
  • Very disappointing.

    1
    By Andrealynnstuartfarris
    The worst book I have read in a long time. Not sure how it got so many good reviews. Don’t waste your money.
  • Didn’t want it to end!

    5
    By Ellie123456789101112131415
    I throughly enjoyed this book and the emotional journey it took me on. The characters were well developed, it will be a great book club discussion!
  • Loved this

    5
    By JillianRose
    Great book, something different than I usually read. Very interesting
  • Predictable

    2
    By annieduesie
    Simon and Clara are the only two stories worth reading. It’s a dismal, predictable, unlikely in many parts and definitely not a page turner
  • Wonderful book

    5
    By lindsey void
    I savored this lush book. Each character felt like a mini life lesson on how your thinking changes your fate yet the author wants to save room for magic. I really really didn’t want the book to end. A heartfelt thank you.
  • The Strangest Book I’ve Read All Year

    4
    By yldsmile
    If the reader’s desire is to read something unlike anything else, with rich characters in bazaar life-scenarios, this is a very well written and intriguing read. The characters are complex, and all seem to have been tragically scarred by the words of a gypsy fortune teller they visit as young siblings. The dysfunction each character exhibits is much greater than the fateful prophecy portents, and I wanted something else to justify the downward spiral of each sibling. I did consider not finishing it at times, but stuck with it to see how characters would resolve their trauma. Very unusual settings, scenarios and outcome. If you want something cheerful and uplifting this is not that. But again, well written and developed. Just very very strange.
  • Page turner

    5
    By Duck_duck123
    Eye opening, thought provoking and extremely well written. Was extremely sad to see it come to an end.

Comments