Meditations on the Way of the Cross (Stations of the Cross) - St. Francis of Assisi

Meditations on the Way of the Cross (Stations of the Cross)

By St. Francis of Assisi

  • Release Date: 2018-06-01
  • Genre: Christianity
5 Score: 5 (From 11 Ratings)


This book comes complete with a Touch-or-Click Table of Contents, divided by each section.

Saint Francis of Assisi was an Italian Catholic friar and preacher. He founded the men's Franciscan Order, the women’s Order of St. Clare, and the lay Third Order of Saint Francis. St. Francis is one of the most venerated religious figures in history.

Stations of the Cross refers to a series of artistic representations, very often sculptural, depicting Christ Carrying the Cross to his crucifixion in the final hours (or Passion) of Jesus, and to devotions commemorating the Passion that use the series, often moving physically around a set of stations. 

The vast majority of Roman Catholic churches now contain such a series, typically placed at intervals along the side walls of the nave; in most churches these are small plaques with reliefs or paintings, simpler than most of the examples shown here. 

The tradition as chapel devotion began with St. Francis of Assisi and extended throughout the Roman Catholic Church in the medieval period. It is commonly observed in Lutheranism, but it is less often observed in Anglicanism.

It may be done at any time, but is most commonly done during the Season of Lent, especially on Good Friday and on Friday evenings during Lent.

You can purchase other religious works directly from Wyatt North Publishing.